ARE THERE ANY QUALIFICATIONS THAT
THE EMPLOYER MUST MEET?

Yes, by Rhode Island law, employers, owners,
supervisor, managers, or anyone in a supervisory position
over an inmate must pass a criminal history check. All
employers must have workers compensation or private
insurance coveringinjury and must adhere to Rhode Island
labor laws.

WHAT HAPPENS TO THE PARTICIPANTS
MONEY WHEN HE/SHE GETS PAID?

The participant’s check is placed in his/her Inmate
Account at the RIDOC and is subject to the following
deductions:

#30% of gross is taken for program fees.

4 15% of the remainder is taken out to pay any court
cost and fines.

#25% of the remainder is taken out to go to the
participant’s frozen savings account for use upon
release from custody. This will stop after the
account reaches $1,000.

#Participants are allotted between $35 and $50
expense money each week for transportation cost or
lunches. (Brown bag lunch will be provided for
those participants who wish it.)

4Child support money will be paid when owed. This

money may be garnished.

How SHOULD PROBLEMS BE HANDLED BY
THE EMPLOYER?

If an inmate is injured on the job, the employer should
contact the Work Release Supervisor’s Office. If no one can
be reached, contact can be made through the Minimum
Security front desk. Contact telephone numbers will be
provided to all Work Release employers. If the injury is of a
serious nature, the inmate should be taken to the nearest
medical center immediately.

If there is discipline problem with the inmate, the
employer should contact the facility immediately. The first
point of contact should always be the Work Release
Supervisor. If he cannot be reached, the front desk should be
contacted.

Any and all problems encountered with inmates will be
handled discreetly between the employer and the facility.
Work Release inmates should not be informed of employer
phone calls to the facility concerning problems.

How DOES THE PROGRAM
WORK BEST?

The program works best when there is
open and ongoing communication between
the employer and the facility. It normally
takes about a week for a good system to be
established. During this time, the employee
becomes familiar with the bus schedules to and from work
and the employer has a chance to evaluate the inmate’s skill
level. The program also works best when the inmate is treated
fairly and like any other employee at the work location.
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WHAT 1S THE WORK

RELEASE PROGRAM?
The Rhode Island
Department of Corrections’
Work Release Program is
designed to help inmates
through the rehabilitative process by providing selected

———
Men’s Minimum/Work Release

offenders the opportunity to pursue vocational and
educational endeavors in the community. Inmates in the
program return to the ]
prison each night and are
housed in a special unit
with other Work Release
inmates. While at the
prison, they are subject to
the same rules and

Women’s Minimum/Work Release

regulations as other
inmates, but the experience of leaving the prison to work
in an off-site setting and earning a fair wage is considered
to be excellent preparation for the eventual reentry to the
home community upon release.
Men and women are both eligible for the program.
In order to be eligible, an inmate must:
#Have completed at least one sixth (1/6) of his or her
sentence
#Have been classified to and resided in Minimum
Security one month for each year that he/she has
been sentenced
#Be within two years of discharge
#Have appeared before the Work Release Board and
received its recommendation. (Criminal and prison
history, program participation, and parole status are
all considered in the board’s recommendation.)
#Have been approved by the Corrections Director
and/or his Designee for the Work Release Program.
Prior to beginning a Work Release placement, the
Department of Corrections notifies the offender’s
victim(s), the arresting police department, and the
residential police department of the inmate’s pending
placement into the community.

Inmates who have a No Contact
Order (NCO) or are serving on
domestic charges will be disqualified.

Inmates can also be court ordered to
the Work Release Program. R.I. law
(R.I.G.L.12-19-2) has provisions for
judges to send first-time offenders to the
Work Release Program.

Inmates can be sent to the Work
Release Program through the R.I. Family
Court for failure to pay child support.
(RLG.L. 8-10-38.1)

Federal inmates can also be placed in Work Release. Such

inmates must have less than 10% of their sentence remaining and
have indicated that Rhode Island was, is, and definitely will be their

state of residence upon release.

All inmates are evaluated prior to placement into the program

and sign contracts concerning all rules and regulations prior to job

placement.

WHERE ARE WORK RELEASE

INMATES ELIGIBLE TO WORK?

There are a few restrictions regarding
the type of job a Work Release Program
participant can accept. These include:

& A Work Release inmate cannot work
as a tele-marketer.

4 A Work Release inmate cannot work
in a position with Internet access or

access to individuals’ personal

information.

4 A Work Release inmate cannot work with or for family

members or anyone who has been on his/her visiting list.

4 A Work Release inmate cannot work for companies that

store or dispense any drug, medicine or narcotic.

4 A Work Release inmate cannot work for out-of-state

companies or Rhode Island companies whose job sites are

out of state.

& Men and women on Work Release cannot work at the same

site.

4 A Work Release inmate cannot work on job sites located in

a prison facility.

HoWw DO PARTICIPANTS GET TO AND
FROM WORK?

Participants may utilize
public transportation (bus) or the
employer may make arrangements
for transportation. The specific
means of transportation is dependent on the job location
and work schedule.

WHAT TIMES CAN WORK
RELEASE INMATES WORK?

Program Participants can work
any shift as long as appropriate
transportation arrangements are
made.

How MmucH DO WORK RELEASE
INMATES EARN?

There are no set limitations for
pay. The general rule is that
should be

commensurate with the duties

compensation

and responsibilities associated with the position.

CAN I HIRE A PARTICIPANT FOR A
SHORT-TERM POSITION?

Short-term employment (a position lasting less than
three months) is discouraged for a variety of reasons
including the excessive amount of paperwork required.
Exceptions can be made in extraordinary situations.



